Phoenix Sex Crimes Attorney, Phoenix Sex Crimes Lawyer, Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer
Criminal Defense Lawyer in Phoenix Arizona. Call and talk  now! Home

Adult Criminal DefenseJuvenile Criminal DefensePersonal Injury Law

Copyright © 2014 Verdura Law Group PLLC,  All Rights Reserved  - Terms of use

Phoenix Sex Crimes Attorney

State of Arizona Revised Statutes - Sex Offenses


Sexual Conduct with a Minor


13-1405. Sexual conduct with a minor; classification; definition

A. A person commits sexual conduct with a minor by intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person who is under eighteen years of age.

B. Sexual conduct with a minor who is under fifteen years of age is a class 2 felony and is punishable pursuant to section 13-705. Sexual conduct with a minor who is at least fifteen years of age is a class 6 felony. Sexual conduct with a minor who is at least fifteen years of age is a class 2 felony if the person is or was the minor's parent, stepparent, adoptive parent, legal guardian or foster parent or the minor's teacher or clergyman or priest and the convicted person is not eligible for suspension of sentence, probation, pardon or release from confinement on any basis except as specifically authorized by section 31-233, subsection A or B until the sentence imposed has been served or commuted.

C. For the purposes of this section, "teacher" means a certificated teacher as defined in section 15-501 or any other person who provides instruction to pupils in any school district, charter school or accommodation school, the Arizona state schools for the deaf and the blind or a private school in this state.


Molestation of a Child


13-1410. Molestation of a child; classification

A. A person commits molestation of a child by intentionally or knowingly engaging in or causing a person to engage in sexual contact, except sexual contact with the female breast, with a child who is under fifteen years of age.

B. Molestation of a child is a class 2 felony that is punishable pursuant to section 13-705.

Indecent Exposure

13-1402. Indecent exposure; exception; classification

A. A person commits indecent exposure if he or she exposes his or her genitals or anus or she exposes the areola or nipple of her breast or breasts and another person is present, and the defendant is reckless about whether the other person, as a reasonable person, would be offended or alarmed by the act.

B. Indecent exposure does not include an act of breast-feeding by a mother.

C. Indecent exposure to a person who is fifteen or more years of age is a class 1 misdemeanor. Indecent exposure to a person who is under fifteen years of age is a class 6 felony.

D. A person who is convicted of a felony violation of this section and who has two or more historical prior felony convictions for a violation of this section or section 13-1403 involving indecent exposure or public sexual indecency to a minor who is under fifteen years of age shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment as follows:

     Mitigated      Minimum      Presumptive      Maximum        Aggravated

     6 years           8 years        10 years             12 years          15 years

E. The presumptive term imposed pursuant to subsection D of this section may be mitigated or aggravated pursuant to section 13-701, subsections D and E.


Public Sexual Indecency


13-1403. Public sexual indecency; public sexual indecency to a minor; classification

A. A person commits public sexual indecency by intentionally or knowingly engaging in any of the following acts, if another person is present, and the defendant is reckless about whether such other person, as a reasonable person, would be offended or alarmed by the act:

1. An act of sexual contact.

2. An act of oral sexual contact.

3. An act of sexual intercourse.

4. An act of bestiality.

B. A person commits public sexual indecency to a minor if the person intentionally or knowingly engages in any of the acts listed in subsection A of this section and such person is reckless about whether a minor who is under fifteen years of age is present.

C. Public sexual indecency is a class 1 misdemeanor. Public sexual indecency to a minor is a class 5 felony.

D. A person who is convicted of a felony violation of this section and who has two or more historical prior felony convictions for a violation of this section or section 13-1402 involving indecent exposure or public sexual indecency to a minor who is under fifteen years of age shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment as follows:

     Mitigated       Minimum     Presumptive      Maximum        Aggravated

     6 years          8 years         10 years             12 years           15 years

E. The presumptive term imposed pursuant to subsection D of this section may be mitigated or aggravated pursuant to section 13-701, subsections D and E.


Sexual Assault


13-1406. Sexual assault; classification; increased punishment

A. A person commits sexual assault by intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person without consent of such person.

B. Sexual assault is a class 2 felony, and the person convicted shall be sentenced pursuant to this section and the person is not eligible for suspension of sentence, probation, pardon or release from confinement on any basis except as specifically authorized by section 31-233, subsection A or B until the sentence imposed by the court has been served or commuted. If the victim is under fifteen years of age, sexual assault is punishable pursuant to section 13-705. The presumptive term may be aggravated or mitigated within the range under this section pursuant to section 13-701, subsections C, D and E. If the sexual assault involved the intentional or knowing administration of flunitrazepam, gamma hydroxy butyrate or ketamine hydrochloride without the victim's knowledge, the presumptive, minimum and maximum sentence for the offense shall be increased by three years. The additional sentence imposed pursuant to this subsection is in addition to any enhanced sentence that may be applicable. The term for a first offense is as follows:

     Minimum               Presumptive           Maximum

     5.25 years                7 years                  14 years

The term for a defendant who has one historical prior felony conviction is as follows:

     Minimum               Presumptive           Maximum

     7 years                   10.5 years               21 years

The term for a defendant who has two or more historical prior felony convictions is as follows:

     Minimum               Presumptive           Maximum

     14 years                 15.75 years            28 years

C. The sentence imposed on a person for a sexual assault shall be consecutive to any other sexual assault sentence imposed on the person at any time.

D. Notwithstanding section 13-703, section 13-704, section 13-705, section 13-706, subsection A and section 13-708, subsection D, if the sexual assault involved the intentional or knowing infliction of serious physical injury, the person may be sentenced to life imprisonment and is not eligible for suspension of sentence, probation, pardon or release from confinement on any basis except as specifically authorized by section 31-233, subsection A or B until at least twenty-five years have been served or the sentence is commuted. If the person was at least eighteen years of age and the victim was twelve years of age or younger, the person shall be sentenced pursuant to section 13-705.

Surreptitious Photographing

13-3019. Surreptitious photographing, videotaping, filming or digitally recording or viewing; exemptions; classification; definitions

A. It is unlawful for any person to knowingly photograph, videotape, film, digitally record or by any other means secretly view, with or without a device, another person without that person's consent under either of the following circumstances:

1. In a restroom, bathroom, locker room, bedroom or other location where the person has a reasonable expectation of privacy and the person is urinating, defecating, dressing, undressing, nude or involved in sexual intercourse or sexual contact.

2. In a manner that directly or indirectly captures or allows the viewing of the person's genitalia, buttock or female breast, whether clothed or unclothed, that is not otherwise visible to the public.

B. It is unlawful to disclose, display, distribute or publish a photograph, videotape, film or digital recording made in violation of subsection A of this section without the consent or knowledge of the person depicted.

C. This section does not apply to:

1. Photographing, videotaping, filming or digitally recording for security purposes if notice of the use of photographing, videotaping, filming or digital recording equipment is clearly posted in the location and the location is one in which the person has a reasonable expectation of privacy.

2. Photographing, videotaping, filming or digitally recording by correctional officials for security reasons or in connection with the investigation of alleged misconduct of persons on the premises of a jail or prison.

3. Photographing, videotaping, filming or digitally recording by law enforcement officers pursuant to an investigation, which is otherwise lawful.

4. The use of a child monitoring device as defined in section 13-3001.

D. A violation of subsection A or B of this section is a class 5 felony.

E. Notwithstanding subsection D of this section, a violation of subsection A or B of this section that does not involve the use of a device is a class 6 felony, except that a second or subsequent violation of subsection A or B of this section that does not involve the use of a device is a class 5 felony.

F. Notwithstanding subsection D of this section, a violation of subsection B of this section is a class 4 felony if the person depicted is recognizable.

G. For the purposes of this section, "sexual contact" and "sexual intercourse" have the same meanings prescribed in section 13-1401.


Failure to Register as Sex Offender


13-3821. Persons required to register; procedure; identification card; assessment; definitions

A. A person who has been convicted of or adjudicated guilty except insane for a violation or attempted violation of any of the following offenses or who has been convicted of or adjudicated guilty except insane or not guilty by reason of insanity for an offense committed in another jurisdiction that if committed in this state would be a violation or attempted violation of any of the following offenses or an offense that was in effect before September 1, 1978 and that, if committed on or after September 1, 1978, has the same elements of an offense listed in this section or who is required to register by the convicting or adjudicating jurisdiction, within ten days after the conviction or adjudication or within ten days after entering and remaining in any county of this state, shall register with the sheriff of that county:

1. Unlawful imprisonment pursuant to section 13-1303 if the victim is under eighteen years of age and the unlawful imprisonment was not committed by the child's parent.

2. Kidnapping pursuant to section 13-1304 if the victim is under eighteen years of age and the kidnapping was not committed by the child's parent.

3. Sexual abuse pursuant to section 13-1404 if the victim is under eighteen years of age.

4. Sexual conduct with a minor pursuant to section 13-1405.

5. Sexual assault pursuant to section 13-1406.

6. Sexual assault of a spouse if the offense was committed before August 12, 2005.

7. Molestation of a child pursuant to section 13-1410.

8. Continuous sexual abuse of a child pursuant to section 13-1417.

9. Taking a child for the purpose of prostitution pursuant to section 13-3206.

10. Child prostitution pursuant to section 13-3212 subsection A or subsection B, paragraphs 1 or 2.

11. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor pursuant to section 13-3552.

12. Sexual exploitation of a minor pursuant to section 13-3553.

13. Luring a minor for sexual exploitation pursuant to section 13-3554.

14. Sex trafficking of a minor pursuant to section 13-1307.

15. A second or subsequent violation of indecent exposure to a person under fifteen years of age pursuant to section 13-1402.

16. A second or subsequent violation of public sexual indecency to a minor under the age of fifteen years pursuant to section 13-1403, subsection B.

17. A third or subsequent violation of indecent exposure pursuant to section 13-1402.

18. A third or subsequent violation of public sexual indecency pursuant to section 13-1403.

19. A violation of section 13-3822 or 13-3824.

20. Unlawful age misrepresentation.

21. Aggravated luring a minor for sexual exploitation pursuant to section 13-3560.

B. Before the person is released from confinement the state department of corrections in conjunction with the department of public safety and each county sheriff shall complete the registration of any person who was convicted of or adjudicated guilty except insane for a violation of any offense listed under subsection A of this section. Within three days after the person's release from confinement, the state department of corrections shall forward the registered person's records to the department of public safety and to the sheriff of the county in which the registered person intends to reside. Registration pursuant to this subsection shall be consistent with subsection E of this section.

C. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, the judge who sentences a defendant for any violation of chapter 14 or 35.1 of this title or for an offense for which there was a finding of sexual motivation pursuant to section 13-118 may require the person who committed the offense to register pursuant to this section.

D. The court may require a person who has been adjudicated delinquent for an act that would constitute an offense specified in subsection A or C of this section to register pursuant to this section. Any duty to register under this subsection shall terminate when the person reaches twenty-five years of age.

E. A person who has been convicted, adjudicated guilty except insane or adjudicated delinquent and who is required to register in the convicting or adjudicating state for an act that would constitute an offense specified in subsection A or C of this section and who is not a resident of this state shall be required to register pursuant to this section if the person is either:

1. Employed full-time or part-time in this state, with or without compensation, for more than fourteen consecutive days or for an aggregate period of more than thirty days in a calendar year.

2. Enrolled as a full-time or part-time student in any school in this state for more than fourteen consecutive days or for an aggregate period of more than thirty days in a calendar year. For the purposes of this paragraph, "school" means an educational institution of any description, public or private, wherever located in this state.

F. Any duty to register under subsection D or E of this section for a juvenile adjudication terminates when the person reaches twenty-five years of age.

G. The court may order the termination of any duty to register under this section on successful completion of probation if the person was under eighteen years of age when the offense for which the person was convicted or adjudicated guilty except insane was committed.

H. The court may order the suspension or termination of any duty to register under this section after a hearing held pursuant to section 13-923.

I. At the time of registering, the person shall sign or affix an electronic fingerprint to a statement giving such information as required by the director of the department of public safety, including all names by which the person is known, any required online identifier and the name of any website or internet communication service where the identifier is being used. The sheriff shall fingerprint and photograph the person and within three days thereafter shall send copies of the statement, fingerprints and photographs to the department of public safety and the chief of police, if any, of the place where the person resides. The information that is required by this subsection shall include the physical location of the person's residence and the person's address. If the person has a place of residence that is different from the person's address, the person shall provide the person's address, the physical location of the person's residence and the name of the owner of the residence if the residence is privately owned and not offered for rent or lease. If the person receives mail at a post office box, the person shall provide the location and number of the post office box. If the person does not have an address or a permanent place of residence, the person shall provide a description and physical location of any temporary residence and shall register as a transient not less than every ninety days with the sheriff in whose jurisdiction the transient is physically present.

J. On the person's initial registration and every year after the person's initial registration, the person shall confirm any required online identifier and the name of any website or internet communication service where the identifier is being used and the person shall obtain a new nonoperating identification license or a driver license from the motor vehicle division in the department of transportation and shall carry a valid nonoperating identification license or a driver license. Notwithstanding sections 28-3165 and 28-3171, the license is valid for one year from the date of issuance, and the person shall submit to the department of transportation proof of the person's address and place of residence. The motor vehicle division shall annually update the person's address and photograph and shall make a copy of the photograph available to the department of public safety or to any law enforcement agency. The motor vehicle division shall provide to the department of public safety daily address updates for persons required to register pursuant to this section.

K. Except as provided in subsection E or L of this section, the clerk of the superior court in the county in which a person has been convicted of or adjudicated guilty except insane for a violation of any offense listed under subsection A of this section or has been ordered to register pursuant to subsection C or D of this section shall notify the sheriff in that county of the conviction or adjudication within ten days after entry of the judgment.

L. Within ten days after entry of judgment, a court not of record shall notify the arresting law enforcement agency of an offender's conviction of or adjudication of guilty except insane for a violation of section 13-1402. Within ten days after receiving this information, the law enforcement agency shall determine if the offender is required to register pursuant to this section. If the law enforcement agency determines that the offender is required to register, the law enforcement agency shall provide the information required by section 13-3825 to the department of public safety and shall make community notification as required by law.

M. A person who is required to register pursuant to this section because of a conviction or adjudication of guilty except insane for the unlawful imprisonment of a minor or the kidnapping of a minor is required to register, absent additional or subsequent convictions or adjudications, for a period of ten years from the date that the person is released from prison, jail, probation, community supervision or parole and the person has fulfilled all restitution obligations. Notwithstanding this subsection, a person who has a prior conviction or adjudication of guilty except insane for an offense for which registration is required pursuant to this section is required to register for life.

N. A person who is required to register pursuant to this section and who is a student at a public or private institution of postsecondary education or who is employed, with or without compensation, at a public or private institution of postsecondary education or who carries on a vocation at a public or private institution of postsecondary education shall notify the county sheriff having jurisdiction of the institution of postsecondary education. The person who is required to register pursuant to this section shall also notify the sheriff of each change in enrollment or employment status at the institution.

O. At the time of registering, the sheriff shall secure a sufficient sample of blood or other bodily substances for deoxyribonucleic acid testing and extraction from a person who has been convicted of or adjudicated guilty except insane for an offense committed in another jurisdiction that if committed in this state would be a violation or attempted violation of any of the offenses listed in subsection A of this section or an offense that was in effect before September 1, 1978 and that, if committed on or after September 1, 1978, has the same elements of an offense listed in subsection A of this section or who is required to register by the convicting or adjudicating jurisdiction. The sheriff shall transmit the sample to the department of public safety.

P. Any person who is required to register under subsection A of this section shall register the person's required online identifier and the name of any website or internet communication service where the identifier is being used or is intended to be used with the sheriff from and after December 31, 2007, regardless of whether the person was required to register an identifier at the time of the person's initial registration under this section.

Q. On conviction of or adjudication of guilty except insane for any offense for which a person is required to register pursuant to this section, in addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, the court shall order the person to pay an additional assessment of two hundred fifty dollars. This assessment is not subject to any surcharge. The court shall transmit the monies received pursuant to this section to the county treasurer. The county treasurer shall transmit the monies received to the state treasurer. The state treasurer shall deposit the monies received in the state general fund. Notwithstanding any other law, the court shall not waive the assessment imposed pursuant to this section.

R. For the purposes of this section:

1. "Address" means the location at which the person receives mail.

2. "Required online identifier" means any electronic e-mail address information or instant message, chat, social networking or other similar internet communication name, but does not include a social security number, date of birth or pin number.

3. "Residence" means the person's dwelling place, whether permanent or temporary.


Phoenix Sex Crimes Charges and Dangerous Crimes Against Children Charges: If you have been charged with a sex crime in the state of Arizona, the first thing you need to know is that the sentencing ranges for many sex offenses are severe and may include a prison sentence up to an including life.  All crimes charged as “Dangerous Crimes Against Children” call for mandatory prison.  Many sex offenses also require that you serve “flat-time” in prison if convicted.  This means that you cannot earn early release while in prison.  In addition, for many sex offenses, the state has also imposed mandatory consecutive sentencing.  This means that the judge cannot run your prison time together for separate offenses and you must serve each term separately.


If you have been charged with a sex crime, it’s important to contact an attorney who specializes in this highly technical area of law immediately.  At Verdura Law Group PLLC we have experienced sex crimes defense attorneys who will provide active representation to clients in Arizona who need to fight molestation, sexual assault, sex abuse, prostitution charges and other sex offenses.


Common sex offenses include:


Phoenix Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer


If you or someone you love has been charged with any of the sex offenses outlined above in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Glendale or Tempe, contact Phoenix Sex Crimes Defense Attorney  the Verdura Law Group  today for a free consultation.


Adult Criminal Defense


FAQ - Sex Charges