2. What penalties do I face for a second offense misdemeanor Regular DUI charge in Arizona?
If you have been charged with Driving Under the Influence, a second offense Regular DUI in the state of Arizona, you face the following range of penalties:
For any misdemeanor DUI offense, the court may sentence you up to 6 months jail (or
180 days), up to $2,500 in fines plus an 84% surcharge, and up to 5 years of probation.
By law, the statutory minimum sentence the court shall impose includes: 90 days
jail, 60 suspended upon successful completion of drug and alcohol counseling, a $500
fine plus surcharge, a $1250 prison fund fee, a $1250 public safety fund fee, a $20
time payment fee, and a $13 assessment fee.
Additional fees may be imposed by individual courts.
Additional fines may include: a counseling assessment fee, blood kit reimbursement fee and or probation fee. In addition, license suspension is required by law for a minimum period of one year for alcohol related DUI’s and one year for drug related DUI’s. You will be required to install an interlock ignition device on your vehicle for alcohol related offenses.
*Home detention may be available in certain courts for eligible defendants only.
20% of jail term must be served before home detention is available.
*Work furlough/work release may be available for portions of jail term.