1. What penalties do I face for a first offense misdemeanor Regular DUI charge in Arizona?
If you have been charged with Driving Under the Influence, a first offense Regular DUI in the state of Arizona, you face the following range of penalties:
For any misdemeanor Arizona DUI offense, the court may sentence you up to 6 months jail (or 180 days), up to $2,500 in fines plus an 84% surcharge and up to 5 years of probation. By law, the statutory minimum sentence the court shall impose includes: 10 days jail, 9 suspended upon successful completion of drug and alcohol counseling, a $250 fine plus surcharge, a $500 prison fund fee, a $500 public safety fund fee, a $20 time payment fee, and a $13 assessment fee. Additional fines may include: a counseling assessment fee, blood kit reimbursement fee and or probation fee. In addition, license suspension is required by law for a minimum period of 90 days for alcohol related DUI’s and one year for drug related DUI’s. You will be required to install an interlock ignition device on your vehicle for alcohol related DUI offenses.